#review, Learning

App Review: LingoDeer

As a self-study, I’ve been on the market looking for apps to help me with Korean. Apps are easy and convenient especially for those of us who have our phones with us all the time.

I can definitely say is that Korean learning app market is getting there. I don’t know how many times I have been disappointed with apps…Duolingo…*cough.*  I heard about LingoDeer from a YouTube video I watched. Thanks, Sharla!

After the  disappointment from the Duolingo Korean, I maintain low expectations for Korean learning apps. LingoDeer blew my mind. It was everything that I expected from the Duolingo Korean. There are different topics. For each lesson, there is a grammar point or two as well as key vocabulary. There’s a feature where you can review the grammar and/or the vocabulary. Also, the app can send you notifications to remind you to study which is handy for the busiest of people.

Pros

  • Knowledge Testing
    • This app allows you to take tests to test your knowledge. So, if you are already familiar with a particular topic, just take the test and see if you are able to test out of it. Keep in mind that the test cover several topics at a time.
  •  Variety
    • Each lesson has a variety of question types. There’s drag and drop, fill in the blank, multiple choice, and elimination. You don’t feel bored.
  • Native Speaker
    • Throughout each lesson, there are audio clips voiced by a native speaker. The speaker may be reading the sentence that is on the screen. One of my favorite things is usually toward the end of the lesson, you unscramble a sentence. When you assemble the sentence, the speaker says the individual word/symbol.
  • Free!!!

Cons

  • I wish there was a feature where you could record yourself and check it against the native speaker.
  • No cultural tips or facts-These could provide useful or as break from studying

I highly recommend trying LingoDeer. It’s available on IOS and Android.

Image result for lingodeer

4 thoughts on “App Review: LingoDeer”

  1. Once I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now each time a remark is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any method you may take away me from that service? Thanks!

  2. I’m usually to running a blog and i actually recognize your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and maintain checking for new information.

Leave a comment